State Farm.jpg

Harlan's Jordan Brock Named Second-Team All-OVC

By Thomas Corhern

Tennessee Tech University Sports Information

Jordan Brock (TTU Athletics Photo)

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. -- As the Ohio Valley Conference wrapped up its regular-season basketball slate and stand on the eve of the league's tournament in Evansville, Ind., the conference announced its All-OVC teams on Tuesday.

Tennessee Tech claimed four spots on the teams, picking up second-team selections for junior Anna Jones, and seniors Jordan Brock and Kesha Brady. Jones was also selected to the conference's All-Newcomer team.

The teams were voted on by the OVC's head coaches and sports information contacts.

Brock, a former Harlan (Ky.) High School standout, continued to rise up the career scoring list, picking up her 1,270th point in the season finale against Murray State, putting her 18th in the all-time Tech scoring leaders, while breaking assistant coach Allison Clark's career 3-pointers made record earlier in the season. Brock stands with 264 3-pointers made in her career.

While Brock scored double-digits nine times in 2020-21, three of those games were 30-point contests, including a season-high 32 points against UT Martin in a come-from-behind victory over the Skyhawks. She knocked down a career-high 11 shots in that game, as well as tying her career-best in 3-pointers made with eight.

Brock ended the season with 260 points, averaging 11.3 per game, while also averaging 2.1 rebounds and 2.2 assists. From the floor, she was shooting .374, as well as .348 from 3-point range (fourth in the OVC), while she was .848 from the charity stripe.

UT Martin's Chelsey Perry was named the league's Player of the Year, while Wells was the Freshman of the Year. Southeast Missouri's LaTrese Saine was the Defensive Player of the Year, and UT Martin's Kevin McMillan was named the OVC's Coach of the Year.

The first-team lineup included Perry, Tesia Thompson (Southeast Missouri), Macey Turley (Murray State), Wells, Young, Yamia Johnson (Jacksonville State), Abby Wahl (Eastern Illinois), Dasia Young (UT Martin), Saine and Conley Chinn (Belmont). The second-team also included Lariah Washington (Eastern Illinois) and Jayla Johnson (Eastern Kentucky).

The fifth-seeded Golden Eagles will take on No. 4-seeded Jacksonville State on Thursday in the quarterfinals of the OVC Basketball Championships from Evansville's Ford Center. Tipoff is scheduled for 1 p.m.

Edward Jones.jpg