top of page

Five Ex-NFL Standouts Chosen To Kentucky Pro Football Hall Of Fame; 1964 Browns To Receive Blanton C

By Jamie H. Vaught


Five former NFL standouts have been selected to the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame, it was announced at a press conference in Lexington on pre-Super Bowl Friday, Feb. 3.

The five new inductees for the hall of fame’s 2017 class are:

--William Gay (Pittsburgh Steelers, Arizona Cardinals)

--Ernie Green (Cleveland Browns)

--Virgil Livers (Chicago Bears)

--Bruce Kozerski (Cincinnati Bengals)

--Todd Perry (Chicago Bears, Miami Dolphins)

Also announced is the legendary 1964 NFL champion Cleveland Browns team which will receive the 11th annual Blanton Collier Award for Integrity. The national-level award, named after ex-UK and Cleveland Browns head coach, recognizes individuals who have shown outstanding integrity both on and off the field.

Ironically, the 1964 Browns -- which included legendary running back Jim Brown, QB Frank Ryan and wide receiver Paul Warfield, among others -- were coached by mild-mannered Collier (pictured) and they are the last squad to capture an NFL title in Cleveland.

Cleveland Browns Photo

Edward Jones AD.jpg
bottom of page