top of page

Darius Miller To Be Inducted Into Kentucky High School Basketball Hall Of Fame

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Former Kentucky men’s basketball standout Darius Miller, who helped lead the Wildcats to the 2012 national championship, will be inducted into the Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame on Saturday, July 9 at the State Theater in Elizabethtown, Ky.

Miller (pictured) will be enshrined into the hall of fame as a part of the class of 2016 for his illustrious high school career at Mason County High School. The 2008 winner of the Kentucky Mr. Basketball award, Miller led Mason County to the 2008 state championship, averaging 19.0 points, 8.0 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 2.5 steals per game during the memorable Sweet 16 run. A member of an elite group of Kentucky high school basketball players to have scored more than 2,000 career points, Miller received all-state recognition in 2007 and 2008. Following his decorated high school career, Miller signed with Kentucky and eventually helped UK to its eighth national title in 2012. He averaged 9.9 points with 56 made 3-pointers that season en route to Southeastern Conference Sixth Man of the Year honors. In 2011 with the Wildcats, Miller averaged 10.9 points and hit 58 3-point field goals. He was named the MVP of the SEC Tournament after leading the Wildcats to the championship in Atlanta. Miller finished his Kentucky career with 1,248 points, currently ranked 34th on UK’s all-time scoring list. The Maysville, Ky., native was drafted 46th overall by New Orleans in the 2012 NBA Draft. He played three seasons in New Orleans before transitioning to pro basketball overseas. Miller recently led his team in Germany, Brose Baskets, to a second straight championship in the Beko BBL. He won MVP honors after averaging 18.0 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.7 assists in the three-game sweep in the finals. Other former Wildcats who were recently inducted into the Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame, which began enshrining members in 2012, include: • Travis Ford (2015 inductee) • Jimmy Dan Conner (2015) • John Pelphrey (2015) • Winston Bennett (2015) • Vernon Hatton (2014) • Frank Ramsey (2014) • Jack Givens (2014) • Johnny Cox (2013) • Billy Ray Lickert (2013) • Larry Conley (2013) • Mike Casey (2013) • Cliff Hagan (2012) • Wallace Jones (2012) • Rex Chapman (2012) • Richie Farmer (2012)

UK Athletics Photo

Edward Jones AD.jpg
bottom of page