top of page
Bob Dixon.jpg

Bob Dixon

Agency Manager


Middlesboro, KY 40965


Go Big Blue!

Three Wildcats Receive All-SEC Honors; Texas A&M's Boomer White Named SEC Player Of Year

HOOVER, Ala.--The Southeastern Conference has recently announced its 2016 Baseball Awards and All-SEC Teams, recognizing standout performances from this season.

Texas A&M’s Boomer White (pictured) was named the SEC Player of the Year, Florida’s Logan Shore is the SEC Pitcher of the Year, Mississippi State’s Jake Mangum is the SEC Freshman of the Year, Mississippi State’s John Cohen is the SEC Coach of the Year and Tennessee’s Derek Lance is the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Three Kentucky Wildcats -- first baseman Evan White (pictured) and pitchers Dustin Beggs and Sean Hjelle -- received recognition on the Coaches’ All-Southeastern Conference team. White was named second-team All-SEC and also earned a place as the first baseman on the SEC All-Defensive Team. Beggs joined White as the pitcher on the All-Defensive Team. Hjelle was chosen as the relief pitcher on the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Texas A&M's White set the SEC record for hits in league play with 57 and finished first in the conference with a .467 average in SEC games. He led the conference in all games with 88 hits and a .486 on-base percentage and helped lead the Aggies to 41 wins, including 20 in conference play.

Florida's Shore is 10-0 this season with a 2.33 ERA and was a two-time SEC Pitcher of the Week honoree. Florida has won 18 of Shore’s last 19 starts, and he is one win away from moving into sole possession of second place on the school's all-time wins list.

MSU's Mangum concluded the regular season with a .427 batting average, tops in the SEC. He enters the postseason with 73 hits, and his .479 on-base percentage also stands second in the league.

MSU's Cohen, who formerly was the head coach at UK, was named SEC Coach of the Year for the second time in his career after leading the Bulldogs to their 11th SEC regular season title and first since 1989. They also won a school-record 21 SEC games and the program’s first SEC Western Division crown. Mississippi State won nine SEC series in 2016, also a program record, and the Bulldogs won their last 11 games of the regular season.

Tennessee's Lance has earned a 3.90 GPA in Kinesiology. He posted the highest GPA among Tennessee student-athletes within his class of seniors and was recognized at the 2016 University of Tennessee Chancellor’s Honors Banquet, paying tribute to students who excel exceptionally in both scholarship and athletics. Lance has been accepted into ETSU’s Quillen College of Medicine where he will pursue med school.

(To read the list below, you may want to use the desktop version for better viewing or reading.)

2016 SEC Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Boomer White, Texas A&M

Pitcher of the Year: Logan Shore, Florida

Freshman of the Year: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State

Coach of the Year: John Cohen, Mississippi State

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Derek Lance, Tennessee

First Team All-SEC

C: Henri Lartigue, Ole Miss

1B: Nathaniel Lowe, Mississippi State

2B: Ryne Birk, Texas A&M

3B: Boomer White, Texas A&M

SS: Kramer Robertson, LSU

OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State

OF: J.B. Woodman, Ole Miss

OF: Gene Cone, South Carolina

*DH/UT: Jack Kruger, Mississippi State

*DH/UT: Bryce Jordan, LSU

SP: Logan Shore, Florida

SP: Dakota Hudson, Mississippi State

RP: Shaun Anderson, Florida

Second Team All-SEC Team

C: Mike Rivera, Florida

*1B: Peter Alonso, Florida

*1B: Evan White, Kentucky

2B: Tate Blackman, Ole Miss

3B: Nick Senzel, Tennessee

SS: Dalton Guthrie, Florida

OF: Anfernee Grier, Auburn

OF: Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt

OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt

DH/UT: Brent Rooker, Mississippi State

SP: Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

SP: Clarke Schmidt, South Carolina

RP: Mark Ecker, Texas A&M

Freshman All-SEC Team

*C: Chris Cullen, South Carolina

*C: Michael Curry, Georgia

1B: LT Tolbert, South Carolina

2B: Deacon Liput, Florida

3B: Jonathan India, Florida

SS: Connor Kaiser, Vanderbilt

OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State

OF: Antoine Duplantis, LSU

OF: Chandler Taylor, Alabama

DH/UT: Ethan Paul, Vanderbilt

SP: Braden Webb, South Carolina

SP: Adam Hill, South Carolina

RP: Sean Hjelle, Kentucky

SEC All-Defensive Team

C: Mike Rivera, Florida

1B: Evan White, Kentucky

*2B: Cole Freeman, LSU

*2B: Ryne Birk, Texas A&M

3B: Nick Senzel, Tennessee

SS: Dalton Guthrie, Florida

OF: Buddy Reed, Florida

OF: Anfernee Grier, Auburn

OF: J.B. Woodman, Ole Miss

*P: Jordan Sheffield, Vanderbilt

*P: Kyle Simonds, Texas A&M

*P: Dustin Beggs, Kentucky

* - Denotes a tie in voting. Ties are not broken.

Photos by UK Athletics and Texas A&M Athletics

edward Jones Ad 2.jpg
bottom of page