top of page

Kentucky-Indiana High School Basketball Rosters Set For June 12 All-Star Classic In Louisville

LEXINGTON – The Kentucky Lions All-Star Classic, which annually matches the top Kentucky high school basketball players against the best in Indiana, is set for Sunday, June 12. The girls’ game will begin at 1 PM with the boys facing off 30 minutes after. Both games will be played at Bellarmine University in Louisville.

The Bluegrass Sports Commission made the announcement on Thursday, April 7.

Since 1940, the Classic has created an intense rivalry between the two historically basketball-rich states. “We are excited to once again be part of this rich historic event and to work with the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation,” said BSC President and CEO Brian Miller. “High school basketball in Kentucky is special and we are proud to be able to showcase the best talent that our state has to offer.”

The teams are comprised of the top athletes from around the state, including Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches (KABC) Regional Players of the Year, Mr. and Miss Basketball, and players who were nominated by selected KABC Coaches of the Year.

The 2016 Mr. and Miss Kentucky Basketball winners, which were announced before the boys' state tournament last month in Lexington, were Carson Williams of Owen County High School and Erin Boley of Elizabethtown High School, respectively. Williams has signed to play at Northern Kentucky University. Boley will play at Notre Dame.

The 2016 boys’ team will be coached by former Tates Creek High School coach Wayne Breeden and includes the following players: Trey Blevins, Wayne County Alex Cook, Male Tyrik Edwards, Christian County Mason Faulkner, Caverna Quentin Goodin, Taylor County Connor McKim, St. Xavier Tyler Sharpe, Bullitt East Caleb Taylor, South Laurel Isaiah Tisdale, Henry Clay Ben Weyer, Newport Central Catholic Carson Williams, Owen County Darius Williams, Paul Laurence Dunbar Matt Wilson, Campbell County

The 2016 girls head coach will be Muhlenberg County’s Mike Harper and includes the following players:

Mikayla Berry, Owensboro Catholic Erin Boley, Elizabethtown Kaylee Cotton, McCreary Central Whitney Creech, Jenkins Samantha Fitzgerald, Southwestern Malaka Frank, Franklin County Bree Glover, Glasgow I’Liyah Green, Male Justus Martin, Shelby County Dajah McClendon, Covington Holy Cross Sarah Price, Bath County Oneisha Turner, Bowling Green Emma Young, East Jessamine

The Classic serves as a fundraiser for the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation. KLEF's mission is to prevent and cure blindness and provides vision care and assistance to more than 20,000 Kentuckians annually. The Foundation supports an eye bank, eye clinics, eye research, and programs including the Vision Van and KidSight programs throughout the state.

Tickets for the June 12 game are currently on sale for $12 each, on the BSC Web site at

Tickets are valid for both the boys and girls games. All profits will support the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation and the Bluegrass Sports Commission.

Any questions regarding the event should be directed to the Bluegrass Sports Commission at (859) 286-5152 or by email at

Edward Jones AD.jpg
bottom of page