top of page
Bob Dixon.jpg

Bob Dixon

Agency Manager


Middlesboro, KY 40965


Go Big Blue!

Third-Ranked Lincoln Memorial University To Host NCAA Division II Southeast Regional This Weekend

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The South Atlantic Conference regular season champion and third-ranked Lincoln Memorial University men's basketball team has been selected to host the upcoming 2015 NCAA Division II Southeast Regional at Tex Turner Arena March 14-17 in Harrogate, Tenn. (near Middlesboro, Ky. on the Kentucky-Tennessee-Virginia border). The Railsplitters (29-2) were tabbed with the region's top billing during a live NCAA selection show on Sunday night.

Lincoln Memorial will be making its fifth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament, but it marks the first time the Railsplitters have hosted the Southeast Regional. For its first round match-up, LMU has drawn eight-seeded North Greenville, who stunned Mount Olive to capture the Conference Carolinas tournament title on Sunday afternoon.

The Railsplitters put together arguably the most impressive regular season in South Atlantic Conference history, capturing their third consecutive regular season title and their fourth in the past five seasons with a 21-1 league mark, finishing with eight games separating themselves and the three teams tied for second place. Lincoln Memorial advanced to the title game of the SAC Championship for the third straight season on Saturday with a thrilling win over Queens, breaking the league's single-season record for wins in the process. LMU fell short in a 63-48 loss to Carson-Newman in the title game, but still retained the top spot in the Southeast Region rankings.

The four quarterfinal games of the Southeast Regional will take place on Saturday, March 14, while the two semifinal contests are scheduled to be played on Sunday, March 15. The NCAA Division II Southeast Regional championship is set for 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 17. All seven games will be hosted in Harrogate, Tenn. at Tex Turner Arena.

Along with the top-seeded Railsplitters' matchup against No. 8 North Greenville, four-seeded Mount Olive takes on five-seeded GRU Augusta, two-seeded Montevallo faces seven-seeded Carson-Newman, and three-seeded UNC Pembroke plays six-seeded Columbus State.

Lincoln Memorial has advanced to the second round of the Southeast Regional in each of the last three seasons, but has not broken past that round in program history. The Railsplitters have been the No. 2 seed for the Southeast Regional in three of the four seasons leading up to the 2014-15 campaign.

The winner of the Southeast Regional moves on the NCAA Division II Elite Eight, hosted in Evansville, Ind. March 25-28.

2015 NCAA Division II Southeast Regional schedule

Saturday, March 14

Game 1 - No. 6 Columbus State vs. No. 3 UNC Pembroke (12:00 p.m.)

Game 2 - No. 7 Carson-Newman vs. No. 2 Montevallo (2:30 p.m.)

Game 3 - No. 8 North Greenville vs. No. 1 Lincoln Memorial (5 p.m.)

Game 4 - No. 4 Mount Olive vs. No. 5 GRU Augusta (7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, March 15

Game 5 - Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 (5 p.m.)

Game 6 - Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4 (7:30 p.m.)

Tuesday, March 17

Southeast Regional Championship - Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6 (7 p.m.)

edward Jones Ad 2.jpg
bottom of page