State Farm.jpg
Edward Jones.jpg

2014 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Teams Announced; Kentucky's Bud Dupree Chosen For Second Tea

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Alabama and LSU each placed a league-leading 11 representatives on the 2014 Preseason Coaches All-Southeastern Conference football teams, the SEC announced Thursday.

All 14 SEC schools were represented by at least one member on the All-SEC teams, including seven schools with seven or more selections each. Ten SEC schools had at least one first-team All-SEC selection, including a conference-best eight from Alabama.

Kentucky senior defensive end Alvin “Bud” Dupree has been selected for the second-team All-SEC.

A 6-foot-4, 264-pounder, Dupree has earned several preseason accolades in 2014, including spots on the Ted Hendricks Award Watch List (given to the nation’s top defensive end) and the Chuck Bednarik and Bronko Nagurski Trophy preseason watch lists (given to the top defensive player in college football).

The native of Irwinton, Ga., is coming off an All-SEC campaign as a junior, leading all league defensive lineman with 61 tackles.

Alabama’s Christion Jones earned two spots on the All-SEC first team, making the squad as both an all-purpose and return specialist. South Carolina’s Pharoh Cooper was a second-team All-SEC return specialist and a third-team All-SEC all-purpose athlete.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

The SEC begins its 2014 season on Thursday, August 28 with four league teams in action, including an interdivision conference matchup between South Carolina and Texas A&M at 6 p.m. ET in the first SEC football game to air on the SEC Network.

2014 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Teams (* - ties)

First Team Preseason All-SEC


TE - O.J. Howard, Alabama

OL - La’el Collins, LSU

Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M

Arie Kouandjio, Alabama

Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss

C - Reese Dismukes, Auburn

WR - Amari Cooper, Alabama

Sammie Coates, Auburn

QB - Nick Marshall, Auburn

RB - Todd Gurley, Georgia

Mike Davis, South Carolina

AP - Christion Jones, Alabama


DL - Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida

Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

Trey Flowers, Arkansas

A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama

LB - Trey DePriest, Alabama

A.J. Johnson, Tennessee